Air-Force Polish M-346 Bielik pilot talks about aircraft's superior performances

Test7

Experienced member
Staff member
Administrator
Reactions
18 19,918
Nation of residence
United States of America
Nation of origin
Turkey

"I still remember how I was impressed by one of the first aggressive maneuvers. Right after take off, I went up at a 35 degree angle. It was amazing! I've never done anything like this before!"​

Interview Polish Bielik pilot
Polish Air Force's M-346 Pilot Lieutenant Maciej Grzywa (Photo credit: Polska Zbrojna).

In August 2020, the Polish website Polska Zbrojna published an interesting interview with Lieutenant Maciej Grzywa, M-346 Bielik pilot and future instructor in the Polish Air Force. He talked about his passion for flying and how, thanks to the Bielik, he made the history of the nation's military flight training.

Lt. Pilot Maciej Grzywa is 27 years old. In 2017 he graduated from the Polish Air Force Academy as a jet pilot. He totaled over 800 flight hours, 150 of which in the M-346 Bielik.

Maciej said his interest in aviation started when he was a child. He was drawn to the technical side of flight, aircraft structures and the laws of physics. He started building scale model aircraft, and then flew gliders at the Aeroclub in Radom, Poland.

In 2012 Maciej passed the exams to enter the Polish Air Force flight academy where he studied to become a pilot. During the training he flew several aircraft such as Diamond, Zlin, PZL-130 Orlik and TS-11 Iskra.

He said he always aimed high, for aerial combat. "I think that all those who study in this field are aiming at combat aviation. For me it was the same, I raised the bar very high, I dreamed of flying the F-16, air combat, modern aviation technology."